2020 NAEOP Scholarship & Award Recipients

Scholastic Achievement Award, $1,500 each

Presented to TRIO participants who are either current college students or who will be freshman in the upcoming academic year. Winners of this award exhibit qualities of outstanding scholastic achievement through participation in a TRIO project and receive awards in the amount of $1,500.00 each.

Ashwaq Tobiya
Ashwaq Tobiya, Student Support Services, Everett Community College
Photo of Akeisha Rainbolt
Akeisha Rainbolt, Student Support Services, Pierce College
Photo of Domenica Gachet
Domenica Gachet, Student Support Services, Walla Walla Community College
Photo of Sofia Nguyen
Sofia Nguyen, Upward Bound, University of Washington
Photo of Jaelyn Cuellar
Jaelyn Cuellar, Upward Bound, Boise State University
Photo of Fana Hagos
Fana Hagos, Talent Search, South Seattle College
Photo of Alexis Torres
Alexis Torres, Talent Search, Idaho State University
Photo of Luis Berrios-Hayden
Luis Berrios-Hayden,Ronald E. McNair Postbaccalaureate Achievement Program, Southern Oregon University
Photo of Jason Martin
Jason Martin, Educational Opportunity Center, University of Idaho

Pearl M. Hill Memorial Scholarship, $1,000 each

Established in honor of Pearl M. Hill, the founding President of NASP (now NAEOP). Pearl timelessly advocated on behalf of TRIO students and programs, both regionally and nationally. The Pearl Hill award is a $1,000 award presented to students who must be high school juniors or seniors at the time of application (can be in a dual enrollment college program) or who will be college freshmen in the upcoming academic year, and who are participating or have participated in an Upward Bound program.

Photo of Truc Quynh Nguyen
Truc Quynh Nguyen, Upward Bound, South Seattle College
Photo of Patricia Wagar
Patricia Wagar, Upward Bound, Whatcom Community College
Kiala Ve’a (no photo), Upward Bound, South Seattle College
Photo of Auola Lejena
Auola Lejena, Upward Bound, University of Alaska Anchorage

TRIO Achiever Award, $200 each

Presented to alumni of NAEOP TRIO projects who have significantly benefitted from TRIO services and have achieved professional success.

No nominations received this year.

Dr. Gabriel Gallardo Memorial Scholarship, $ 1,000 each

Established in 2020 in honor of Dr. Gabriel Gallardo for the impact he made in supporting low-income, first-generation and underrepresented students in higher education. Dr. Gallardo helped McNair Scholars develop their talents, voices and discover their own personal potential in pursuit of a graduate degree. The Dr. Gabriel Gallardo award is a $1000 scholarship presented to a TRIO student who is part of a McNair program or has plans to pursue graduate school.

Photo of Hannah Aken
Hannah Aken, Ronald E. McNair Postbaccalaureate Achievement Program, Idaho State University
Item added to cart.
0 items - $0.00
Skip to content